E.B Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award

E.B Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award Requirements

The OSU Alumni Association has established the E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award to recognize and honor former OSU students who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers have brought credit to OSU. The award does more than honor these former students. It spotlights the accomplishments of OSU and thereby increases the pride in our Alma Mater by all associated with the University. The award also presents to the people of Oregon and the nation tangible evidence of the effectiveness of the progress of our University


Eligibility Considerations:

  1. Performed specific, meritorious service which reflects the quality and advancement of Oregon State University
  2. Achieved distinction in his/her business or professional life
  3. Demonstrated distinguished human service in community affairs at the local, state, national or international level
  4. Had been enrolled in OSU as a student (graduate/undergraduate), at least 20 years prior to nomination, as a student in good standing, for a minimum of one academic year
  5. Be an individual who, in deeds and action, reflects and recognized the importance of his or her education at OSU, who demonstrates pride in the Alma Mater, and whose interest in and loyalty to OSU are evidence
  6. Be a person of such integrity, stature and demonstrated ability, that the faculty, staff, students and alumni will take pride in and be inspired by his or her recognition

Those Ineligible For Nominations:

  1. A candidate for any public office
  2. One currently serving as a member of the OSU Alumni Association Board of Directors or the OSU Foundation Board of Trustees
  3. Any current Oregon State University of OSU Foundation employee


  1. Nominations for the award are encouraged from any source
  2. All nominations shall be kept confidential
  3. Forms for making nominations shall be furnished by the Alumni Office and is included at the link below
  4. Nominations may be made at any time. If a nominee is not selected the first year they are nominated and their file will remain active for two years following their nomination

Past Award Recipients

1981 - Thurman J. "TJ" Starker / Loran L. "Stub" Stewart
1982 - Claude F. Palmer
1983 - N.B. "Nat" Giustina
1984 - Milton Harris
1985 - Robert C. Ingalls
1986 - Linus C. Pauling
1987 - Douglas C. Engelbart
1988 - Richard A. Koch
1989 - James C. Howland
1990 - Marion E. Carl
1991 - Robert D. Cess
1992 - Philip Lane, Sr.
1993 - Faye H. Stewart
1994 - Henry L. Bauer
1995 - Kazuyoshi Kawata
1996 - Warren Washington
1997 - Robert W. Lundeen
1998 - Ronald T. Miller
1999 - James W. Poirot
2000 - Ken Austin
2001 - Jean Starker Roth
2002 - Martin Kelley
2003 - Keith McKennon
2004 - Thomas C. "Burke" Hayes
2005 - William “Frosty” Comer
2006 - Bernie Newcomb
2007 - Sam Wheeler
2008 - Lee and Connie Kearney
2009 - Patrick Stone
2010 - Al Reser
2011 - Bond and Barte Starker
2012 - Duane McDougall
2013 - Hal Schudel
2014 - Rockne Freitas
2015 - Sandy Campbell
2016 - Jen-Hsun Huang
2017 - Dick Fosbury
2018 - Jim Coleman
2019 - Tom Skoro
2021 - Rick Spinrad